Fondo RG-6 - City of Edmonton. Office of the Mayor fonds

William Hawrelak Elmer E. Roper Vincent Dantzer Ivor Dent Terry Cavanagh Cec Purves

Área de título y declaración de responsabilidad

Título apropiado

City of Edmonton. Office of the Mayor fonds

Tipo general de material

  • Documento textual
  • Graphic material - artwork
  • Graphic material - photograph
  • Objeto

Título paralelo

Otra información de título

Título declaración de responsabilidad

Título notas

  • Fuente del título: Title based on name of creator.

Nivel de descripción


Institución archivística

Código de referencia


Área de edición

Declaración de edición

Declaración de responsabilidad de edición

Área de detalles específicos de la clase de material

Mención de la escala (cartográfica)

Mención de proyección (cartográfica)

Mención de coordenadas (cartográfica)

Mención de la escala (arquitectónica)

Jurisdicción de emisión y denominación (filatélico)

Área de fechas de creación


  • 1945 - 1989 (Creación)
    Office of the Mayor

Área de descripción física

Descripción física

6 m of textual records and other material

Área de series editoriales

Título apropiado de las series del editor

Títulos paralelos de serie editorial

Otra información de título de las series editoriales

Declaración de responsabilidad relativa a las series editoriales

Numeración dentro de la serie editorial

Nota en las series editoriales

Área de descripción del archivo

Nombre del productor


Historia administrativa

Prior to Edmonton’s incorporation as a Town in 1892, the area was governed by the Territorial Government. The area was also influenced by the Hudson’s Bay Company, the Northwest Mounted Police, as well as local citizens and citizen-run organizations.

On January 9, 1892 the Territorial Government assented to Ordinance No. 7 of 1891-1892: An Ordinance to Incorporate the Town of Edmonton. The incorporation of the Town became official when Edmontonians elected their first Mayor and Council on February 10th of that year.

The Mayor serves as the chief executive officer of the municipality. The Mayor performs the same legislative duties as the other elected officials on Council, providing direction, control, and planning of civic activities. The Mayor is required to preside over all council meetings when in attendance, provide leadership to council, represent Edmonton at functions and events, and can attend and vote in all committee meetings.

The Office of the Mayor is responsible for helping to implement the vision set out by the Mayor and ensuring the business of the office runs smoothly, from attending and following up on key meetings to helping shape city policy to scheduling the Mayor’s attendance at various events.

List of Edmonton Mayors (and terms):

  1. Matthew McCauley (1893-1895)
  2. Herbert Charles Wilson (1895-1986)
  3. Cornelius Gallagher (1896)
  4. John Alexander McDougall (1896-1897)
  5. William S. Edmiston (1897-1899)
  6. Kenneth W. MacKenzie (1899-1901)
  7. William Short (1901-1904)
  8. Kenneth W. MacKenzie (1904-1905)
  9. Charles May (1905-1906)
  10. William Antrobus Griesbach (1906-1907)
  11. John Alexander McDougall (1907-1908)
  12. Robert Lee (1908-1910)
  13. George S. Armstrong (1910-1912)
  14. William Short (1912-1913)
  15. William J. McNamara (1913-1914)
  16. William Thomas Henry (1914-1917)
  17. Harry Marshall Erskine Evans (1917-1918)
  18. Joseph Clarke (1918-1920)
  19. David Milwyn Duggan (1920-1923)
  20. Kenneth Blatchford (1923-1926)
  21. Ambrose Bury (1926-1929)
  22. James McCrie Douglas (1929-1931)
  23. Dan Knott (1931-1934)
  24. Joseph Clarke (1934-1937)
  25. John Wesley Fry (1937-1945)
  26. Harry Ainlay (1945-1949)
  27. Sidney Parsons (1949-1951)
  28. William Hawrelak (1951-1959)
  29. Frederick John Mitchell (1959)
  30. Elmer Ernest Roper (1959-1963)
  31. William Hawrelak (1963-1965)
  32. Vincent Dantzer (1965-1968)
  33. Ivor Dent (1968-1974)
  34. William Hawrelak (1974-1975)
  35. Terry Cavanaugh (1975-1977)
  36. Cec Purves (1977-1983)
  37. Laurence Decore (1983-1988)
  38. Terry Cavanaugh (1988-1989)
  39. Jan Reimer (1989-1995)
  40. Bill Smith (1995-2004)
  41. Stephen Mandel (2004-2013)
  42. Don Iveson (2013-Present)

Historial de custodia

Alcance y contenido

This fonds consists of minutes, reports, correspondence, speeches, and other records relating to the functions performed by the Mayor of Edmonton that were sent to the City of Edmonton Archives by the Mayor's Office

An order has been imposed on the material. Files are arranged in alphabetically while material within the files are arranged chronologically. Wherever possible original file titles were retained.

The arrangement includes 9 series, which are as follows:

  • Series 1: Harry Ainlay
  • Series 2: Sidney Parsons
  • Series 3: William Hawrelak
  • Series 4: Elmer Roper
  • Series 5: Vincent Dantzer
  • Series 6: Ivor Dent
  • Series 7: Terry Cavanaugh
  • Series 8: Cecil Purves
  • Series 9: Laurence Decore

Área de notas

Condiciones físicas

Origen del ingreso

This material was transferred to the City of Edmonton Archives between 1970 and 2016.


The photographs were assigned item numbers with the prefix EA-353.
The artwork was assigned item numbers EAA-35 and EAA-115.

Idioma del material

  • inglés

Escritura del material

Ubicación de los originales

Disponibilidad de otros formatos

Restricciones de acceso

There are no restrictions on access.

Condiciones de uso, reproducción, y publicación

Copyright may apply.
Reproduction restrictions may apply.

Instrumentos de descripción

Materiales asociados

See also:
William A. Griesbach fonds (PAA PR-1035), McDougall Family fonds (PAA PR-0237), A. U. G. Bury fonds (PAA PR-1581), Jan Reimer fonds (PAA PR-2754) at the Provincial Archives of Alberta.


Further accruals are expected.

Nota general

Accession numbers: A74-9, A74-55, A75-25, A76-27, A77-70, A78-104, A78-139, A79-18, A80-99, A82-50, A83-67, A86-52, A89-99 a, A2002-1, A2016-22, A2016-165

Descripción física

This fonds also includes 16 photographs, 1 photo album, and multiple pieces of art and other mayors' gifts, including EAA-35-1, EAA-115-1, EAA-115-2, and EAA-115-3.

Identificador/es alternativo(os)

Área de número estándar

Número estándar

Puntos de acceso

Puntos de acceso por materia

Puntos de acceso por lugar

Puntos de acceso por autoridad

Tipo de puntos de acceso

Área de control

Identificador de registro de descripción

Identificador de la institución

City of Edmonton Archives

Reglas o convenciones

Rules for Archival Description (RAD)
Archives Society of Alberta Subject Terms

Estado de elaboración


Nivel de detalle

Fechas de creación, revisión o eliminación

Idioma de descripción

Escritura de la descripción


Área de Ingreso

Materias relacionadas

Personas y organizaciones relacionadas

Lugares relacionados

Tipos relacionados