City of Edmonton. Edmonton Police Department

Identity area

Type of entity

Corporate body

Authorized form of name

City of Edmonton. Edmonton Police Department

Parallel form(s) of name

  • Edmonton Police Service

Standardized form(s) of name according to other rules

Other form(s) of name

Identifiers for corporate bodies

Description area

Dates of existence



The Edmonton Police Department was established in 1892 through Bylaw 15, which provided for the appointment of special constables. This bylaw allowed the mayor to appoint constables as necessary, for a period of no more than 30 days. Prior to this, law and order in Edmonton was under the jurisdiction of the North West Mounted Police. In 1900 the position of Chief of Police was established and the department began to take on the character of a modern police force. By 1912 the Police Department had a staff of seventy-one, and by 1920 four stations were in operation. From as early as 1929 until 1954 there were two main units: Uniform Division and Detective Division. It should be noted that a particular area of interest for the Detective Division was second hand stores, the equivalent of modern day pawn shops, due to their association with property crime.

In 1954 City Council appointed M. F. E. Anthony as the new Chief of Police. Anthony secured more autonomy for the force, and instituted a new departmental organization. It comprised two main units: Administration and Operations, each of which contained multiple sections. Administration included Personnel, Recording, Accounting, Identification, Modus Operandi, Central Filing, a Typist Pool, and the Orderly Room, which included court detail, gaol duty, switchboard operations and the garage. Operations included Patrol Division, Traffic Division, and a Criminal Investigation Division.

Due to the changing reality of policing, as well as a considerably larger department, a complete reorganization occurred between 1971 and 1972. Two sections were created that reported directly to the Chief of Police: the Research and Development Section and the Inspections and Internal Affairs Section. In addition, three bureaus were created: the Administrative Services Bureau (which included the Fiscal and Equipment Division and the Personnel and Training Division); the Technical Service Bureau (which included the Communications Division, the Information Division and the Court and Gaol Division); and the Operations Bureau (which included the Patrol Division, the Criminal Investigation Division and the Special Operations Division).

Although new initiatives have been added and existing sections rearranged or dissolved, this general administrative structure has remained.


Legal status

Functions, occupations and activities

Mandates/sources of authority

Internal structures/genealogy

General context

Relationships area

Access points area

Subject access points

Place access points


Control area

Authority record identifier


Institution identifier

City of Edmonton Archives

Rules and/or conventions used


Level of detail

Dates of creation, revision and deletion




Maintenance notes

  • Clipboard

  • Export

  • EAC

Related subjects

Related places